I was busy and depressed over Easter weekend. Easter, unlike Christmas, usually does depress me. Even as a child it depressed me for no certain reason. I had an innate understanding of the season that seems lost, even in Christian communities. Yes we all know the significance, yet our routines for the day do not really match it. We hurriedly rush through the narrative and wear our Sears or JC Penny best and take our kids to easter egg hunts, in what has become the second or third most consumer driven Holiday in America.Then there is the social network arguments on what or what is not “pagan” references. What changed for me and made Easter so much more than any egg hunt, pastel dress, or pseudo spiritual arguments, was when I attended a Bible College and in a class studying the history and prophecy of the Old Testament, read a book titled Jesus in the Feasts of Israel by Richard Booker. This book is so highlighted from that class, that I probably cited eighty percent of it it in the paper I had to write at the time. The tribes of Israel had been mandated seven feasts which they observed for 1,500 years before Christ was born. It was amazing to me that each and every one of these were fulfilled by Christ. Everything in the Old Testament was a foreshadowing of Christ. This is so intertwined and so detailed that no one could have just made this up over a 1,500 year period and no chance happening could have ordered these events.
I’ll refrain from writing an essay but here are a few excerpts, as I have long since misplaced my term paper of 2003.

Jesus entered Jerusalem to be set aside as the human Lamb of God on the exact date that God told the Jews to set aside their lambs back in Egypt. Jesus was fulfilling in himself the ultimate reality reality of the Feast of Passover. The purpose for setting aside the lamb, as we have mentioned, was to observe him to make sure he was without spot or blemish. So the Jews observed and tested the lamb for five days to make sure it was faultless. Likewise, Jesus was observed and tested for five days by the religious leaders. They questioned His authority (Matt 21:23-27). They asked Him trick questions hoping He would give a wrong answer which they could use against Him (Matt 23). But Jesus always responded to them perfectly. They took Him to the Roman governor, who after beating and interrogating Him, Pilate said “I find no fault in Him”(John 19:4) This all happened in the five day period from the tenth to the fourteenth when the Jews were observing their lambs for sacrifice.( Booker,p.24)
At the exact hour when Jews were preparing their lambs, Jesus was nailed to the cross. Mark wrote “now it was the third hour, and they crucified Him”(Mark 15:25). The third hour, was nine o’ clock in the morning Jewish time. In fulfillment of the Feast of Passover and Isaiah’s prophecy, Jesus bore our griefs and carried our sorrows. He was oppressed and afflicted. Yet he opened not His mouth, like a lamb led to slaughter. Then at three o’clock  as the people were slaughtering their lambs, Jesus died. Mark was careful to note the time and wrote that it was the ninth hour. Even the spit that lambs were spread open was shaped like a crossbar. All other details concerning the death of the lambs happened to Jesus. For example, His bones were not broken…just as God had instructed to not break any bones in the Passover lamb. When a person is crucified, his body sags so he cannot breathe, which causes him to push himself up with his heel long enough to breathe. To hasten the person’s death, the Roman soldier would break his legs. John records that the soldiers broke the legs of the two thieves who were crucified next to Jesus. But when they came to Jesus, they saw that He was already dead and did not break His legs (John 19:31-33).

The book goes on to correlate the feast of Pentecost and the Resurrection of Christ, and how he stayed with the disciples teaching and explaining to them what this miracle was and meant. He breathed on them to receive the Holy Spirit and the power of God, and ascended to Heaven. It goes on to state how the future correlates to the feast of Trumpets. Also the book talks about how at different times, because of lack of faith or understanding humanity has lost the symbolism or importance of these feasts, and instead just institutionalized the church.

“When the church became institutionalized in A.D. 312 many of those in charge were politicians rather than religious leaders. Their decisions were more political than spiritual. The result was that Christianity was organized into a system whose leaders chose human leadership rather than spirit directed leadership filled with the power of God. God let man have his way, because God will not force Himself on us”

. However, those who understand that Christ is a fulfillment of all history and we are reconciled to God through a personal knowing of Him, those establishments soon fall. They are only temporary as all things man made are.

The very intricate details of history, prophecy and faith and how it pertains to life and understanding is very heavy. How does one write about such things when anyone can google and find information, or attacks or arguments or jokes? I cant get on any soap box or point fingers when relationship to Christ is personal. I cannot preach any sermons that have not been preached and I also cannot ignore the significance of something that informs who I am. I remembered a poster I had above my bed for many years, and the word “praise” came to mind.
1b1732201e11772e08bf2d8fda6d4b37

And He shall be called…

Advocate (1 John 2:1); Lamb of God (John 1:29); The Resurrection & the Life (John 11:25); Shepherd & Bishop of Souls (1 Peter 2:25); Judge (Acts 10:42); Lord of Lords (1 Timothy 6:15); Man of Sorrows (Isaiah 53:3); Head of the Church (Ephesians 5:23); Master (Matthew 8:19); Faithful & True Witness (Revelation 3:14); Rock (1 Corinthians 10:4); High Priest (Hebrews 6:20); The Door (John 10:9); Living Water (John 4:10); Bread of Life (John 6:35); Rose of Sharon (Song of Solomon 2:1); Alpha & Omega (Revelation 22:13); True Vine (John 15:1); Messiah (Daniel 9:25); Teacher (John 3:2); Holy One (Mark 1:24)

Mediator (1 Timothy 2:5); The Beloved (Ephesians 1:6); Branch (Isaiah 11:1); Carpenter (Mark 6:3); Good Shepherd (John 10:11); Light of the World (John 8:12); Image of the Invisible God (Colossians 1:15); The Word (John 1:1); Chief Cornerstone (Ephesians 2:20); Savior (John 4:42); Servant (Matthew 12:18); Author & Finisher of Our Faith (Hebrews 12:2); The Almighty (Revelation 1:8); Everlasting Father (Isaiah 9:6); Shiloh (Genesis 49:10); Lion of the Tribe of Judah (Revelation 5:5); I Am (John 8:58; King of Kings (1 Timothy 6:15);

Prince of Peace (Isaiah 9:6); Bridegroom (Matthew 9:15); Only Begotten Son (John 3:16); Wonderful Counselor (Isaiah 9:6); Immanuel (Matthew 1:23); Son of Man (Matthew 20:28); Dayspring (Luke 1:78); The Amen (Revelation 3:14); King of the Jews (Mark 15:26); Prophet (Matthew 21:11); Redeemer (Job 19:25); Anchor (Hebrews 6:19); Bright Morning Star (Revelation 22:16) The Way, the Truth, & the Life (John 14:6)

Jesus Christ

I remember once I had one of those dreams where in the dream you wake up from a dream. I dreamed I was asleep and was getting very cold and could hear something like birds chirping above me, but it wasn’t birds. I could feel a cold breeze from flapping of wings. It was like a demonic activity above me and I was afraid to open my eyes. In the dream I couldn’t speak and I was pushing against this wind and I reached for the poster above my bed, with all the names of Jesus on it, and pulled it over me like a blanket and the activity above me stopped instantly. Then in the next scene of the dream I wake up and it’s morning, and the poster has claw like tears on it. Then I actually woke up. I am not one that says every dream has a meaning, but many pivotal dreams I have had involved prayer, calling on the name of Jesus and knowing that no matter where I am and what is going on, God is all powerful and holds every answer and cares about me, to pull me out of whatever circumstance. That is the power of the name, that all other powers, evils or institutions have no say in. People from many walks of life have had that experience and that is why His story still stands. The truth sets free indeed.That is my story, and so when I think of Easter and why we acknowledge it as followers of Christ, I can only acknowledge what I know. That is a form of praise.

Jesus in The Feast of Israel 

Other life changing and information laden books:
Living in Color

