I remember when I was in my pre-teens and early teens. I couldn’t wait to get into high heels and wear make up, and essentially look like my mother. There were many things I was not allowed to wear, not allowed to look like and then there were things that I just simply never got to wear. When I became a young adult, up until just a few years ago, I shopped from the teen section of Wal Mart…until Miley Cyrus made me mad with her sizing meant for the validation of anorexia….but I digress. I am still a small person and sometimes wander into the junior /miss sections of department stores. In a recent venture for a “perfect” dress (that I did not find on this particular venture), I wandered into the junior section of Macy’s.

Now I DID know that Madonna had a teen line of clothing produced under the face of her daughter Lourdes…yeah coincidentally Madonna also has her own line of shoes and fragrances, also available at Macy’s…so OF COURSE this line is created and managed by a teen for a teen…so much easier to swallow this tacky line of 80’s hair band street walker clothing (and pay for it) if it’s also made and thought up by someone so much younger than-Madonna. I am very careful what I say about teen girl clothing…well wait no I’m not….I am careful HOW I say it, because I really hate the word “slut” and I don’t like it when I hear the word used about young girls, because of what they are wearing or their body shape of which they cannot help. Today it seems “junior/miss” has been styled to fit and accentuate what we know to be a generation of young girls who are maturing faster than my generation did. Again, this is something that cannot be helped, unless you cut out the gmo’s and hormone fed dairy and meat in your children’s diets. This has been proven. Girls are not the only ones developing faster-it is just more obvious and can be taken advantage of much more than with boys…especially when it comes to the banks of beauty and fashion industry.

Bright pink tiny jackets, zip front corset dresses….yes…zip front corset dresses…reminiscent of the Like a Virgin era. What bugged the heck out of me was the backless tops, and cut out dresses…you know tiny dresses with holes in the side waists. Granted, there were a few things that I might wear, maybe in a different way, but there are a few tops I might wear…might. However, I am thirty years old…and the current model for Material Girl is Georgia May Jagger, who is 21…the last model for Material Girl was Kelly Osbourne, who is 28….but if you are in your local Macy’s store there are not 28 and 30 something year old women flooding the Material Girl corner and lets be honest, I’m not the only female who has heard self righteous and insatiable men quip that “she doesn’t LOOK 13″…no they are not right, but neither is dressing a developed 13 year old like Madonna or any other fully grown adult woman. Is there something dirty about a woman showing her shoulder, no and I’m not implying we give our daughters fearful complexes, but in a world where everyone is growing up faster and almost nothing, not even our social lives are secretive or sacred, some taste and class need to be remembered.

Material Girl is not the only celeb line for teens that Macy’s handles. Jessica Simpson also has a line of clothing in the junior section. Her line is much softer and more carefree, not as hard looking, though there may be some dress length issues for some people. I was looking at her jeans…and then I saw the name of her jean line….wait for it….Forever Skinny….and.…Skinny Kiss. Yes folks, if celebrity faces pushing sexy clothes to your daughters is not enough, the name skinny right there on the brand tells them what sexy is. It is not enough that after the age of maybe 15 (or 13 in todays world) a girl cant fit most clothing in the junior section because hormone riddled food has made her develop and all the clothes in junior section will fit are skater boys, they will design the clothes TO fit that body type so a girl feels like something is WRONG with her own body type. This was not just “skinny” jeans (a type of style which I have in my drawer) this was NAMED Skinny….FOREVER SKINNY…..I dropped the pair of jeans and walked away…far away.

There was a line of classy lady clothes in juniors of Macy’s. I did not get to see it in store, I just saw it online when looking for images to hyper link for this article. It is a Marilyn Monroe line. Form fitting cropped jeans..which all ages are wearing. Long sleeve and sleeveless 50s style shirts. 50s style dresses, that by the looks of it depending on your height may or may not be too short. Cardigans to go over said 50s style sun dress. All of these are basic colors, black, white and lip stick red. I might let my 16-18 year old wear these. with moderate accessories. I still would have an issue with a younger girl wearing them. I would wear the whole line…I’m thirty, if anyone is gonna look like a classic pin up it is GONNA be me.
The point is not to shame women, or girls. Girls all through out their lives like to be pretty, to be made pretty and to be told they are pretty. If we are not nurtured in knowing we are pretty and balanced with modesty without feeling guilty about being a girl, then we grow up with all kinds of complexes… believe me I still work on complexes. I don’t think I ever proudly wore red or pink until last year. My point is that girls are maturing and the world is not safer nor more innocent. Girls may learn the powers they have early, but they do not know the value of them and they cannot protect themselves against the onslaught of judgement or prowling lurkers. When I hear grown men say things they shouldn’t about little girls, and when I hear even good men say things like “she should know better than to wear that”, “she shouldn’t prance around in that” or “well it’s a slut fest in here isn’t it”all I hear them saying is “she shouldn’t be where I can see her”. We may wish we could change the way things are and we may get on our pedestals about teaching our daughters to be proud of their bodies and sexuality…well pushing adulthood on her wont do that, and undersized sexy clothes that never fit an average healthy girl also wont do that. What it means to be a junior should be revamped. It should be ok to be a little girl, a teen girl, just as much as it should be ok to be an adult woman…when we actually get there.